Home

I used to think being successful meant earning a lot of money and being better than other people and rubbing their faces in it. I also used to be a bit of a douche. Clearly, I don’t think that way anymore and I haven’t thought that way for a while. Don’t get me wrong, money is important. But, what’s more important is how many people your life positively impacts and if you’ve pursued adventures that help you grow. You need to be the best person you can be to both yourself and others.

If I died tomorrow, my professional progress would look weak. There are people my age and younger who have accomplished so much more. However, if we were to talk about relationships, I’m sure the score would look very different. My main purpose in life so far has been to be an older sister, a daughter and a friend (in that order). That doesn’t seem like much, but it is more essential an identity to me than is being a writer. No matter how I’m feeling, remembering that I’m a necessary member of a community that loves me makes me feel whole again. I might not be rich in the traditional sense, but I am rich in love.

heart

Leave a Reply

