Home

Priya Pyaara Bhaiya,

You mean the world to me. I love you so much and I wish more than anything I could be there today. I was going to say something about how you’ve been a great friend and an even greater brother, but we both know that’s a lie. I do think and know that you are an amazing person and I’m glad that I no longer have to worry about all your dreams coming true because you’re finally marrying the one person who can help you achieve them. No, seriously, how did you trick her? I’m so excited to welcome Pyaari Bhabhi into the family. It’s obvious you two were made for each other. I mean, she thinks you have nice legs and you love her. To whoever sees you both together, it’s clear that y’all are mad for each other. Here’s to the beautiful start of a beautiful marriage between two beautiful people. 

I love love love you both,

–Your (second or third or fourth or fifth) Favorite Sister
Lilo and Stitch hugging.

My older brother is getting married today. His will be the first wedding I won’t attend. It’s breaking my heart. Most people know their siblings their whole lives. I recently got to know mine during a sojourn to the Motherland. Honestly? He was the last person I expected to bond with. He’s a bit conservative and although he’s considered super attractive (blech) and cool, he never really hung out with girls. He did have a lovely girlfriend (his now-bride), but he didn’t think girls partook in “boytivities” like drinking or smoking. HAH!

Our first bonding experience was by accident. It wasn’t supposed to be just him and me, but our older sister ducked out at the last minute. I can’t remember exactly what happened, but it ended with some serious realtalk. Boom! Just like that, after months of not getting along, we both realized how much we had in common. I nicknamed him Pyaara Bhaiya and impressed him by not needing chasers for my whiskey. We started hanging out so much that his friends started to complain that he was neglecting them.

My favorite thing he ever said to me was, “Sloane, you are the boy version of me and I am the girl version of you.” Did I mention he was drunk when he said that? Because he was. In the span of those last 3-4 months, we cried, laughed, and fought enough to make up for our time apart. He made me feel like I wasn’t insane. He made me realize that we didn’t need to be perfect to succeed. We just needed to reach our own expectations. He also reinforced that we shouldn’t define ourselves by what others think. I’m sure he’ll laugh when he reads how wise those last few sentences make him sound, but it’s the least I can do. He helped pull me out of what seemed like a losing battle with depression and I can only hope to one day repay him (with emotional support that is, I’m super broke otherwise I would be at his wedding right now).

Bhaiya and Bhabhi, I hope today goes perfectly. You both deserve lots of happiness! (P.S. Below is something I dug up from the baby files! I’m the “boy” on the left and he’s the one on the right.)
My older brother and I.

–b.d.sloane

2 thoughts on “My older brother.

Leave a Reply

